NAACP New Britain Branch Announces Awardees at Nov 17th Annual Freedom Fund Dinner

The New Britain Branch of the NAACP has announced awards recipients for its 2017 Freedom Fund Dinner on November 17, 2017.

The Freedom Fund Dinner will be on held at the Saint George Hellenic Center which is at 301 West Main Street. The event reception will begin at 5:20pm and the Dinner Program will start at at 6:30pm.

The Program Presider for the evening will be Leslie Mayes, who is at reporter for NBC Connecticut.

The NAACP New Britain Branch will award the John P. Shaw Community Service Award to LaTonya Brown-Thompson.

Dr. Zulma R. Toro will recieve the Life Time Achievement Award.

George Springer, III will be awarded the Social Justice Award.

Community Business and Economic Development Award will be awarded to Violet Jiménez Sims.

Devon Tanksley will receive the Tomorrow Youth Leadership Award

Tickets for the Freedom Fund Dinner are $75.00 per person. The charge for college students and youth 18 and under is $40.00. The ticket price includes a year membership to the NAACP. Tickets may be purchased by calling 860-944-1237.

The NAACP was founded in 1909 and is the nation’s oldest and largest¬†nonpartisan civil rights organization. Its members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities.