“Steadfast & Immovable” – NAACP New Britain Branch Freedom Fund Dinner, Nov 17th

The New Britain Branch of the NAACP will hold its 2017 Freedom Fund Dinner on Friday, November 17, 2017.

The Freedom Fund Dinner will be on held at the Saint George Hellenic Center which is at 301 West Main Street. The event reception will begin at 5:30pm and the Dinner Program will start at at 6:30pm.

The annual dinner supports the mission of the NAACP New Britain Branch to organize in New Britain and empower its residents to win a better, more equal, more just community by working in support of equal access to quality education, decent housing, health care, criminal justice reform, participatory democracy and much more.

The Program Presider for the evening will be Leslie Mayes, who is a reporter for NBC Connecticut. The Keynote Speaker will be Ms. Bobbie Brown, who is Past Connecticut State NAACP Youth & College President.

A number of people will recognized at the event with community awards. The NAACP New Britain Branch will award the John P. Shaw Community Service Award to LaTonya Brown-Thompson. Dr. Zulma R. Toro will recieve the Life Time Achievement Award. Community Business and Economic Development Award will be awarded to Violet Jiménez Sims. Devon Tanksley will receive the Tomorrow Youth Leadership Award.

George Springer, III will be awarded the Social Justice Award.

Tickets for the Freedom Fund Dinner are $75.00 per person. The charge for college students and youth 18 and under is $40.00. The ticket price includes a year membership to the NAACP. Tickets may be purchased by calling 860-944-1237.

The NAACP was founded in 1909 and is the nation’s oldest and largest nonpartisan civil rights organization. Its members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities.