A Split Decision in New Britain’s City Elections

Democratic Mayoral candidate Merrill Gay and Democratic Chair Bill Shortell

Democratic Mayoral candidate Merrill Gay’s campaign, in which he had said he wanted to revitalize and build-up city Democrats, brought a split decision in the 2017 city elections. The Democratic team led by Gay won victories over Republican incumbents across the city and won a 9 to 6 majority on the City Council, but Gay, himself did not prevail in this year’s election for Mayor.

On the other side of this year’s city elections, incumbent Republican Mayor Erin Stewart retained her own position in the Mayor’s office, but city voters denied her a governing majority on the City Council. Voters cut down Stewart’s 12 to 3 Republican Council majority by half its number, delivering control of the Council to city Democrats.

Unofficial results show Democrats winning a 9 to 6 Council majority and three of the five Board of Education seats up for election.

While the unofficial results show incumbent Republican Tax Collector Cheryl Blogoslawski retaining her position over Democrat Lanette Spranzo Macaruso, Democrat Ron Jakubowski defeated Republican incumbent Mark Degrandis in the election for City Treasurer.

In the At-Large Council election, Democrats Eva Magnuszewski, Manny Sanchez, Richard Reyes and Katie Breslin won, while Democrat Yvonne Muniz received the sixth highest vote. In the At-Large Council election, the five top candidates are elected.

The Council’s Republican leader, Daniel Salerno retained his seat in the At-Large Council election, but incumbent Republicans Jim Sanders, Jr., Daniel Davis and Tremell Collins were defeated, along with Republican Desiree Costa.

In each of the city’s five Council “wards” each voter can vote for two candidates and the top two in each ward are elected.

In Ward 1, incumbent Republicans Willie Pabon and Jamie Giantonio held their seats in the election against Democrats Veronica DeLandro and Molly McGuire.

In Ward 2, Democrat Brian Keith Albert defeated Republican incumbent Jerrell Hargraves, while Republican Kristian Rosado retained his seat. Democrat Lamar Bowsky received the third highest vote.

In Ward 3, Democrats Iris Sanchez and Aram Ayalon easily won over Republicans Joel Moret and Jason Gibson.

In Ward 4, Republican incumbents Don Naples and Robert Smedley retained their seats against Democrats Bobby Berriault and Ann Speyer.

In Ward 5, Democratic leader Carlo Carlozzi won re-election and Democrat Francisco Santiago joined him in winning that ward’s two seats. Republicans Carmelo Rodriguez and Miriam Geraci were defeated.

On the Board of Education, Democrats Daisy Sanchez, Annie Parker and Violet Sims won, along with Republicans Nancy Rodriguez and Nick Mercier. Incumbent Republican Mallory Deprey was defeated.

In the election for Mayor, Stewart unofficially received 5397 votes to 4159 for Gay.

Editor’s note (12/23/2017): The mayoral election results were updated from the unofficial totals with the totals from the Secretary of the State.